What on earth is happening?

So do you believe in fate or are you superstitious? A couple of weeks ago a random though crossed my mind about an old friend whom I had lost touch with over 20 years ago. I tried to scheme through my contact list to see if perhaps I might still have his phone number and sure enough I could not find it. It’s even more awkward that just out of the blues I had thought of this particular person.

Last Friday I saw a pop up notification on my phone that I had an email. I checked it out and viola……it was my old time friend! It was as random as an email can get……a one liner that went to the tune of “after 20 years of the hustle, I trust you are alive and well”……first let me say I almost shit my pants. How now??? After 20 years how do I suddenly come to view. When I read the book the Secret and how it went on and on about the law of attraction, I though it was a lot of hogwash and just someone trying to make money out of playing with peoples psychology.

How on earth does someone deep in the heart of Kinshasa just remember an old time neighbour and friend and decide to look them up out of the blue? I am still in a bit of shock as I feel according to the law of attraction I thought of him and therefore pulled him closer to myself. This guy has been based in the DRC for the last 13 years and out of that whole time also just had a random thought about me and decided to look me up.

Another not so long lost friend also had an epiphany and thought to look me up……remember “ghosts of boy friends past” the soldier also got redeployed from Somalia and decided to look up his old friends and I so happened to be one of them. I am not too sure I believe in coincidence but suddenly the past is resurfacing one by one with all sorts and manners of proclamations. What on earth is going on? Am I overthinking things? I can count 4 people now randomly resurfacing from the woods wanting to get in touch.

Without overthinking, let me sit back and reconnect with my people from the past. People I truly considered friends but for one reason or the other our paths had taken divergent tangents. Wow! I am still in disbelief.

Leave a comment

MYSTIC, Copyright © All Rights Reserved